Chicken Saltimbocca

You know how Rachel Ray likes to say, “Yum-oh” when she tastes something she really likes? I couldn’t help but to cry it out when I tasted this Chicken Saltimbocca.   Honestly, I am rather annoyed every time I hear her use this phrase.  Almost as annoying as when she calls extra virgin olive oil “EVOO”.  But it seemed like the only appropriate explicative when I put this warm, melty and savory chicken in my mouth.  The best part is that it took less than 20 minutes to make.

I found this recipe in a cookbook from Williams-Sonoma,  Simple Suppers.  It was VERY simple to make.  I made one adaptation because I did not have fresh sage.  Instead, I subbed dried herbs de provence.

Chicken Saltimbocca

Prepare the chicken: Preaheat the broiler.  Using a sharp knife, cut 4 skinless boneless chicken breasts in half lengthwise to make 8 pieces total.  Place 1 piece between 2 sheets of waxed paper.  Using a meat pounder or the flat bottom of a heavy pan, lightly pound the chicken until it is about 1/4 inch thick.  Repeat with the remaining pieces.  Season the chicken generously with salt and pepper, then sprinkle with 1 tbsp. herbs de provence.  Pat the herbs firmly so it adheres to the meat.

Cook the chicken: In a large frying pan over medium-high heat, melt 3 tbsp. of butter.  Add the chicken and cook until golden on the underside, 2-3 minutes.  Turn the chicken and cook until just opaque throughout, about 3 minutes more.  Top each piece with 1 slice of fontina cheese and 1 slice of prosciutto. Transfer the chicken to a baking sheet and place under the broiler to crisp the prosciutto and melt the cheese, about 1 minute.

Make the sauce: While the chicken is in the oven, add 1 tbsp. butter to the pan. Add 2 minced shallots and saute until softened, about 1 minute. Ad 1/2 cup chicken broth and cook, stirring to scrape up the brown bits on the pan bottom, until the sauce is slightly reduced, 1-2 minutes.  Squeeze in about 1tsp. lemon juice and stir.  Divide the chicken among dinner places, spoon the sauce and shallots over the chicken, and serve immediately.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Saltimbocca

  1. Elizabeth,
    The picture is so appetizing…I’m going to have to try this recipe. I’ve made chicken a million ways, but not this one- yet.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Susan

    P.S. (I agree about Rachael!)

  2. You will not be disappointed!
    You can save some money by taking the skin and the bones out of the chicken breast yourself.
    The fontina cheese is actually not too expensive and the prosciutto is worth it, but it is like $4 for a few thin little slices. I put my leftover prosciutto in the freezer to use for another recipe later on.

  3. Elizabeth….I love following your blog. Your recipes sound so good and the pictures make everything look delish !! Can’t wait to try your chicken….I forwarded it on to my daughter-in-law Tasha…I know she will have fun trying it too. Keep on cooking !
    Mary Nelson

Leave a Reply

