Tastey Toast

My friend came by this afternoon because she had just arrived at the airport that is five miles from my house.  It was great to catch up with my old roommate and show off our new place to her.  I made lunch for us: lentil soup and toast with caramelized onions.  The lentil soup recipe I don’t have perfected yet, so I am going to hold off on posting the recipe.  If anyone has any tips for yummy Lentil Soup, please give me a hollar!

BUT I was pretty proud that I was able to improvise an amazing hour’derve from items in my kitchen that needed to be used up.  These items included: Cracked Wheat Sourdough bread from Trader Joe’s, sliced black olives, Feta cheese, a large white onion

Tastey Toast Recipe

Heat in a large skillet over medium-high heat until the butter is melted:
2 tbsp. butter
2 tbsp. olive oil

Add:
1 large white onion, sliced

Sprinkle with:
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. herbs de provence

Stir constantly for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add:
1/4 cup Merlot
1/4 cup water

Stir occasionally, scraping the pan to dissolve browned bits until the onions are soft and brown and all liquid evaporates, about 40 minutes.

Turn the oven on to broil.  Slice bread into smaller pieces and place on baking sheet.  Top with:
feta cheese, crumbled
slice black olives, coarsely chopped
caramelized onions

Broil on high for 3 minutes, until bread browns around the edges. Serve immediately.

My only regret is that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product to share with you all.  Try making it for yourself and see just how beautiful it looks when it comes out!

One thought on “Tastey Toast

Leave a Reply

